Patient Participation Group

What is the Patient Participation Group (PPG)?

The PPG comprises of volunteer patients registered with the Practice who work in partnership with practice staff and GP's. The PPG provides feedback to the Practice which helps to improve services and helps achieve high quality and responsive care. 

It is an essential and valued part of all our Practices and helps us to understand what the patient experience is really like and how we can best achieve any changes and improvements identified. Our group meet approximately 10 times a year to hear about current news at the Practice, current challenges and developments for the future.

We have a great team of enthusiasts to put forward ideas, suggestions and ask questions on behalf of all patients to support communication. We have a nominated Chair and Secretary who determine the agenda and distribute the minutes of each meeting.

All patients registered with the Practice have the opportunity and are encouraged to join the PPG and if after reading a little about us you would like to join, please contact our PPG via

Please note that whilst a PPG member can take forward a patient's concerns, they cannot deal with a complaint. A complaint must be directed through the Hamdon Practice Complaints Procedure.

PPG constitution and notices
Annual General Meeting

Meet the Patient Participation Group

Our elected PPG representatives have a wide range of knowledge and experience as well as good lines of communication to the Practice Manager and clinical staff at Hamdon Medical Centre.  They are here to assist you with any questions or suggestions you may have over the running of the Centre.

Chairman: Andrew Elfick

Andrew trained as a Business Systems Analyst and worked in the financial industry for several years before starting a small Management Consultancy specialising in change and project management.  He moved from South East London to the Somerset Levels in 2002 before moving into South Petherton in 2018.  He has been active with Hamdon PPG from that time.

Please feel free to contact Andrew by using the address

Vice Chairman: to be elected
Secretary: Lisa Wenborn